Non-church miscellany

15 Jul

This post is not about General Assembly. Neither is it about Presbyterians, or even Christianity. Thank you, blog readers, for sticking with me through some heavy PC(USA) polity and politics. Instead, this post is about three things (which, I promise, has nothing at all to do with the fact that some sermons have three points.)

1. Living in Grand Forks, North Dakota has its perks — no, really, it does. For example, for eight months out of the year you don’t have to worry about ice cream melting in your trunk on the way home from the grocery store. Actually, in seriousness, I’ve found another.

I receiving a parking ticket a few weeks ago for parking on the street outside our apartment on day the city does road cleaning. Having lived there for a year and unaware of the Monday no parking policy, I called the city to complain. Before I could get an angry word out, the nice guy I spoke to said, “Well, we’ll be happy to forgive your ticket. As a courtesy, the city council has a policy to forgive any questionable first time tickets, so let’s get this erased.” And in about a minute, we did.

2. You big city folks will not believe this next story. Yesterday I was working at the church in Hallock, Minn. and made a phone call. On accident, though, I switched the numbers and ended up calling the wrong house. About the same time I realized my mistake, I also realized I in fact knew the person at the wrong number. So we chatted for a while and actually set up a visit for the next day. Only in a small town do you have a five minute conversation with someone at a wrong number, then plan to get together the next day.

3. I’ve been playing in the Men’s Golf League in Hallock this summer — quite enjoyable. It’s an enormous contrast to my time playing two years ago in Scotland, most often on courses requiring fancy dress codes expecting the utmost manners possible. Let’s just say, the Hallock league is a nice breath of fresh air and I welcome the fact that, more often than not, folks are talking during my drives and wearing jeans and T-shirts. I’m loving it.

No matter what you wear or how fancy your clubs, golf is a game of leveling. When you’re looking over a three foot putt, you either make it or you don’t, and whether your shirt is tucked in or belts a “golf belt” doesn’t matter one bit.  If for some reason you boast in your game, you’ve got to prove it week in week out.

Ok, that is all.  No promises re the topic of the next post, but, probably just like you, I’m contemplating a break from Presbytery polity.  I promise not to write on the weather, though…but now that I think of it, it is absolutely beautiful out there today :)

image by Henrique Kwong

One Response to “Non-church miscellany”

  1. joan calvin July 15, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    My first call was to a church in a village in MI. I left the back door unlocked all the time. The UPS man would open the door and put the package inside the house if I didn’t answer the door. My brother in law would send me wine and the UPS guy would sign for it if I wasn’t home (I didn’t have any minors in the house, so it didn’t matter.) Downside: the nearest Starbucks was 35 miles away.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,050 other followers

